The Hotel Del Coronado’s Oxford Building is a historic building renovation, with a design focused on the user’s day to day needs and bring the building back to life. The Oxford has a very fascinating past. Having been originally built in 1887 as the first hotel on the Island to house executives involved with the construction of the Hotel Del. The building was moved twice. First from near the Ferry Landing on 1st Street to Ynez Place where it served as boarding for female employees of the Hotel Del. In 1983, the Oxford was purchased by the Hotel Del’s owner at the time for $1 and a few years later found its current home in the Industrial Area on property. For the past 30 plus years, it has served as administrative offices for the hotel.
With the Master Plan re-working the main entry drive to the hotel, the Oxford has become one of if not the first building visitors see as they approach the famed Victorian hotel. The exterior of the building was painted back to its historic color scheme thanks to paint scrapings and photographic evidence. New wood siding matching the original’s profile was replaced on the weather-beaten west façade and new wood windows throughout. The southwest porch was restored to a building entrance to allow for private entry into the Human Resources Department. This porch entry was the original main entrance to the Oxford prior to it arriving on property. The surrounding grounds & west porch stairs were modified to work with the new main entry grades and beautified with landscaping in Hotel Del style. The interior spaces were reworked to fit the current needs of staff and new finishes & building systems were provided throughout.
Here is to the next chapter in the Oxford’s long life!